2021: Year-in-Review! Never-Before-Seen Pictures and Videos

Nevertheless, she persisted.

I'm so happy you stopped by to see what goes on in my wheel-house when I'm off-court. Keep up with me by subscribing to my Bulletin: CLICK HERE! Join our growing community.

In this year, so much has happened and I am very happy that I have a place where I can examine it in depth, to look back on when I need reminding of both, what I’ve accomplished and what I’ve overcome. My thanks go out to all of you for your support this year, lifting me up in words and prayers, giving me encouragement, and reminding me to take care of myself. Your kindness meant the world to me. Your kindness means the world to me.

Since last year, everything has felt like one long, never-ending simulation. The difference, for me, between 2021 and 2020 was how much clarity I had and how many things I was able to put into perspective in real-time, even during my most challenging moments. So, with two weeks left in 2021, as we near Christmas and the New Year, I decided to compile a year-end review to reflect upon the rollercoaster ride I’ve gracefully persisted through.

Let’s get into it! Originally, I was just going to provide a chronological list of moments, but I decided it would be better to do a photo/video-journal instead! So, I scrolled all the way up to January and did some time traveling through the year 2021; this is what I found…

JANUARY 2021

As the year started, I headed to Australia to start the tennis season for 2021.

When I arrived in Australia, two passengers on my flight tested positive for COVID-19, so I was immediately put on a fourteen-day quarantine.

I was devastated. To add a little heartbreak to the equation, while in quarantine, I found out the same thing that landed me in lockup, robbed my grandmother of her life. In the days following, I learned that my grandfather had also died; losing my grandmother was too much for him to bear.

I had lost both of my grandparents and that was heavy. My mother lost both of her parents and that was heavy. I just wanted to hug my family, but you know, quarantine . . . work. . .Australia.

The funeral planning took place via Zoom, and we decided that it would be best if I remained in Australia to play. Both my grandparents would have wanted me to stay and participate in the tournament; I knew that, but that truth did not make missing the funeral any easier.

*Sidebar* Mom, if you’re reading this, you’re such a Rockstar. I’m so blessed to have you as an up-close example of grace through life’s storms. I know this year hasn’t been easy on you, but I hope and pray each day feels a little bit lighter than the last. I love you.

We’re still in January y’all! I’m exhausted revisiting January of 2021. My goodness! After each loss, I acknowledged and honored my feelings, but I also understood the importance of being one hundred percent intentional about doing more of what made me feel good. I made a conscious effort to incorporate joy into my daily life in order to keep from succumbing to the grief that I was feeling. This wasn’t my first rodeo!

So, in the confines of my hotel suite, I found myself dressing up more, playing games, and taking pictures. I don't encourage unskilled individuals or children to attempt that game at home. Although fun, I don't wan't to be responsible for anyone breaking a window, tv, vase, picture, etc.

First day out of quarantine.

Looking back, being placed in quarantine during the loss of my Grandparents was like a blessing in disguise. I didn’t have to power through work. I was able to cry it out, sleep, speak to my family, and rest my body! Because honey, grief is exhausting. By the time I was able to leave my suite, I felt refreshed. It felt like a second New Year; I had a second opportunity to put into perspective what was important to me and adjust my goals for 2021.

Thankfully, I was able to enjoy my time at the Australian Open in spite of my reality.

FEBRAUARY 2021-APRIL 2021

I was back home. I continued my grieving process, but also kept working on myself, my work/tennis, and towards my future.

  • I got to enjoy Florida’s beaches.

  • I did a lot of great giveaways for my supporters

  • I turned 28.

  • I trained hard.

  • I created better eating habits.

  • A lot of self-loving and self-care took place February-April.

  • Can’t forget the Mutua Madrid Open.

MAY 2021

In May, I came out swinging! Very fitting, considering. It was a dream experience to launch my swimsuit collection with Solid & Striped! I had an idea of how I wanted the people who would wear my suits to feel, so I created just that! From doing the photoshoots, to picking out the colors and designs, it was such a filling opportunity!

Toward the end of May, a smile returned to my face; a genuine, light-filled, and joyous smile. My heart was all cried out by this time and I just wanted more days where the dominant expressions were smiling, laughing, and a little bit of twerking here and there!

That led to me embracing my natural hair, for the first time in ever! I was definitely looking like a young child, but I felt so good. From root to end, I was absolutely feeling myself.

Then, in my natural hair glory, went on to slay my new passport picture! Tyra, where are you? Because honestly, I think I’ve discovered America’s Next Top Model. It’s me! This is what the kids would call a FACE CARD!

Your girl also got Vaccinated!

JUNE 2021

I did what needed to be done at Roland-Garros, also known as, The French Open. I felt good, loved how I was playing, and I looked fly doing so.

Post French Open, I got to spend some time at home and enjoy qt with my little sister! Isn’t she fine?

It was time to get on the road again. I headed to Wimbledon. I was busting my tail (I've been doing so both, literally and metaphorically (did y’all see that fall at the Madrid Open?)) in my tournaments. I felt so good about my performance, even with knowing I’d leave the court with the responsibility of rehabbing myself back to health AGAIN! In the words of the great Donnie McClurkin, "We fall down, but we get up."

JULY 2021

I revealed I’ve been writing! In July, my Bulletin went live. After the year I was having, I jumped at the opportunity to be a part of this new writing platform. One of my goals, after losing my grandparents, was to get back to writing out my thoughts and feelings more. It has been incredible to be able to share so many different aspects of myself with so many different people, while also being able to us this platform as a tool for healing and expression. I love it here!

  • I played the Atlanta Open

  • I continued my rehab.

  • I shopped a lot in July. That I will call, therapy! Lol

August 2021

  • I played Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic

  • I played the National Bank Open

  • I played the Western & Southern Open

My digital cover for SHAPE magazine was released! I had the opportunity to speak about paying it forward and The Sloane Stephens’ Foundation! Shooting for that cover was an experience. The looks were bomb and your girl served what needed to be served! Again, serve, how fitting.

Do y’all see how my year did a complete 180 since January! God is better than good!

Getting my mom's stolen watch replaced was another August highlight. The same day my grandfather passed away, her car was also broken into. Her favorite watch was taken; that was in January. I didn't discover that information until August. I was happy to be able to replace something for her. She was obviously very emotional!

It gets better! I was contacted by Bold.org to collaborate on a scholarship for undergraduate students. In true, my grandparents mean the world to me fashion, I created the $20,000 Doc&Glo scholarship in honor of my late grandparents!! It’s still open for all who are eligible and interested! You have until March 2nd 2022 to apply: https://bold.org/scholarships/sloane-stephens/

I returned to New York City for the US Open. So many emotions that couple of weeks. I was playing tremendously to begin, NYC had an out-of-the-blue flood that left peoples homes destroyed, I didn't make it to the Finals, got a disgusting amount of hate messages via social media, and I found out I was invited to the MET Gala. It was a time where I counted my blessings, but was super aware of the hatred and inequities in this world. That time period emphasized the following: Awareness is sometimes stress. Being a public figure is terrifying. The world needs a lot of real healing. God is good.

After my US Open loss, I found a wonderful designer/stylist last minute and accepted my MET invite. I'm absolutely going to share my experience in writing one of these days! For now, enjoy these amazing looks our team put together!

  • I played the Chicago Fall Tennis Classic.

OCTOBER 2021

  • The beginning of this month was spent resting and spending time with my loved ones.

Then I headed to Prague for the Billie Jean King Cup to represent Team USA! We didn't win it all, but we put up a hell of a fight!

NOVEMBER 2021

I hosted my Second Annual Sloane Stephens Invitational Diversity Camp in partnership with United States Tennis Association, while also competing in World Team Tennis in Palm Springs.

  • Celebrated my Mom's birthday

Mom, Uncle Steve,Me, and Aunt Michele

  • I got to see my Uncle Steve and Aunt Michele during my tournament!

DECEMBER 2021

Another month coming out swinging! Inspired by my "How to Push Through the End of the Year"article, I made a list of efforts I would relentlessly and actively support, to close out this year. My two main goals are to support Black woman-owned businesses and assemble in my workplace.

To achieve those two goals, I discovered the Buy From A Black Woman platform. I've personally purchased through this platform and have made it my mission to share it with five new people every week. In regard to the workplace goal, the Player's Council, of which I am a member, answered a recent call to action in support of Chinese Tennis Player, Peng Shuai. We have been taking action behind the scenes, as we all have the same goal in mind: ensuring Peng Shuai's rights are protected, allegations resolved, she is safe, and there is transparency, accountability, and justice.

I have never been more proud of myself and the people with whom I surround myself than I am this month.

I feel equipped, clear, and ready to step into more leadership roles and serve as a resource in many ways in 2022, however, until then, I wanted to reflect on my year in 2021 and take a moment to see just how far I've come.

Me at the SI Awards December 2021.

It made me so happy to go through my year's memories and see all that I've accomplished, overcome, survived, grown, and/or experienced in the past year. I encourage you all to do the same.

If you would like to share your highlights or hardships from the past year, feel free to do so in the comments. My curiosity is to learn more about how you were treated by and what you did for yourself in 2021.

I'm so happy you stopped by to see what goes on in my wheel-house when I'm off-court. Keep up with me by subscribing to my Bulletin: CLICK HERE! Join our growing community.