Barcelona City Guide

A favorite stop on my tennis schedule for 14 years and counting!

I’m wrapping up a training block at BTT Tennis Academy, an academy near Barcelona that I’ve been training at since I was 14. BTT has always been a really supportive environment for me and the place where I fell in love with playing on red clay.

On days and evenings off, I love to head into Barcelona to explore, eat, and enjoy this incredible city. Since I’ve been coming here for more than half my life, I feel very comfortable here and love planning itineraries for friends who are visiting Barcelona for the first time. Instead of keeping my itinerary in the Notes app on my phone, I wanted to share it with my Bulletin subscribers! 

Barcelona is an amazing walking city. Sometimes I find that the best days are spent with a very loose agenda - figure out a few guideposts of your day that you want to make sure you hit, but be flexible of how and when you get there. Make sure you have your most comfortable Nikes on and get those steps in! In cities like Barcelona, the joy is found in strolling, in never knowing what you’ll discover around the corner.

I know that international cellular data plans can be expensive, so I recommend using hotel wifi to download your Google Maps (other app of your choice) so they’re accessible offline. Pin each location you’re wanting to visit, and use this as your walking guide. In places where I don’t speak the language, I often screenshot the addresses of where I plan to go so I can show it to a cab driver or helpful person on the street in a pinch. There is so much to do in Barcelona, so this is by no means an exhaustive list, but hopefully it’s a helpful start to your wanderlusting and trip planning!

TO DO:

  • La Sagrada Familia - This basilica is more than a house of worship and UNESCO World Heritage site, it is living art. In 1883, famed Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí took over the project, and it has been under construction ever since. There are times when traveling where I think it’s fine to skip an official tour and explore on your own, but I think a visit to La Sagrada Familia is best enjoyed and appreciated on a guided tour. There are so many details and intricacies to this site that come to life when an expert points them out. Aside from that, the ongoing construction is funded by revenue from donations and ticket sales, so we're all in this together. I am always humbled to stand in this house of worship and realize that five generations (and counting) of artisans and craftspeople have worked towards bringing Gaudí’s ultimate vision to fruition. Talk about teamwork! I recommend you plan ahead by purchasing your tickets online and downloading their official app.

  • Park Güell - Another incredible Gaudí site and one of the largest greenspaces in the city. Come here to explore the various trails and catch incredible views of the city below, all while working up an appetite for your next meal!

  • Casa Batlló and Casa Milà - Two Gaudí residential projects - noticing a theme here? I’ve taken the self-guided audio tour through Casa Milà and have only admired Casa Batlló from the sidewalk, but you can also tour that site. Another reason why I recommend going on a formal tour of La Sagrada Familia is so the tour guide can explain Gaudí’s architectural style at the start of your trip. Then, you can identify and appreciate the details at various sites throughout the city. Both of these sites are located near some great shopping on Passeig de Gràcia.

  • El Born - One of my favorite neighborhoods, and gives me King's Landing vibes. You can get lost in the maze of old gothic streets, only getting your bearings when you pop into a small tapas bar for a snack or visit the Museu Picasso.

  • La Rambla - I love to stroll La Rambla to people watch and feel the energy of the city. This is an area with a lot of tourists and pedestrian traffic so, as with anywhere, be mindful of your belongings! I also always stop at the massive Sephora to check out what brands and products are popular here. I love to see what trends and products are top of mind for people around the world.

  • Mercado de La Boqueria - As you stroll down La Rambla, pop into La Boqueria to peruse all the incredible food stalls and taste your way through. There are lots of counter seat restaurants within the market that cook up the freshest finds of the day. The time of day doesn’t matter at the market, and you’ll find stalls of people eating some early morning seafood and washing it down with a glass of local cava. Do you!

  • Camp Nou - The home of FC Barcelona. Cassiano and Darian headed to the FC Barcelona match on Sunday. If you’re a soccer fan, you have to check out a game here!

  • Beach day - Barcelona is a city on the coast. Take some time to relax, stroll the beach, and pop into the Mediterranean Sea.

VIRTUAL TOURS:

I know it is tough for many to travel, especially now, so I found some incredible virtual tours and have linked them below!

  • Virtual tour of Casa Milà

  • Virtual tour of La Sagrada Familia

  • Airbnb has some fantastic virtual experiences where you can connect with hosts from across the world from the comfort of your home. I’ve had friends take some cooking classes and virtual tours. After you take the virtual Gaudí tours, you can make a paella dinner at home!

TO EAT:

  • Paco Meralgo - My favorite tapas spot! The name of the restaurant, which sounds like it could be someone's name, is actually a play on words. “Pa’ comer algo”, or “Para comer algo”, means “to eat something.” Moving past the fun facts and onto the food, tapas is the name of the game here. The menu and specials change frequently with the seasons, but you can be certain that you’ll have super fresh seafood and made-to-order tapas. As you’ve learned by now from reading my posts, I love to do my research and then give very specific and tested recommendations to my friends. Below is the menu I screenshotted and sent to some friends for their trip so they’d know my favorite items to order.

Enjoying my Crema Catalana at Paco Meralgo

Some of my menu recs I sent to friends recently!

Recs part 2!

  • Tapas Crawl Through El Born - The rest of my recommendations can be done together in one leisurely afternoon and evening as you explore El Born and the Gothic Quarter.

    • Bar del Pla - Located right by the Museu Picasso, Bar del Pla is a low key tapas and wine bar with perhaps the best patatas bravas I’ve ever had.

  • El Xampanyet - Also in El Born and close to the Museu Picasso, El Xampanyet is a super buzzy tapas bar with crowded bar seating and tiny tables where locals and tourists alike squeeze in. It feels totally old school and just for a brief moment, you can imagine living around the corner and this being your neighborhood spot.

View from the counter seats at El Xampanyet

  • La Vinya del Senyor - After winding your way through the streets of El Born, you’ll suddenly pop out into Plaza Santa María del Mar. If you’re a wine drinker, this is the spot for you, as the wine list is thicker than many college textbooks. If you’re not a wine drinker, the ambiance of this venue is unmatched. Take a seat at a table outside, gaze at the incredible basilica, and soak it all up. You’re in Barcelona!

Scenes from Plaza Santa Maria del Mar

NIGHTLIFE:

I am long back in my hotel room watching Downton Abbey at this point in the evening, but my team has ventured out to these spots and really enjoyed themselves. Both of these spots have made the Top 50 List of the World’s Best Bars and specialize in inventive cocktails.

That’s a wrap for now! I’m off to Rome to continue my clay court swing. Ciao!