Celebrating One Year on Bulletin!

Time flies when I'm writing for you!

Thanks for visiting Off-Court! I'm launching my August premium fitness and wellness content next week. You can check out the July sneak peek content here. Sign up for my premium subscription here and receive a 2 week free trial. Let me know what you think!

For one full year now, I’ve had the honor and privilege of sharing my life with you on the Bulletin platform. I call this space Sloane Stephens Off-Court because my hope is that it will help you get to know me beyond tennis. In fact, not everyone who shows up here is a tennis fan and actually I love that because it means you’re connecting with Sloane the person, not just Sloane the athlete.

My Favorite Articles

Back in December, I shared a roundup of some of my favorite articles from my first six months on this platform.

Since then, I’ve published a lot of other articles that have both resonated with readers and truly reflected my personal mission.

In February, I shared a roundup of Black History Museums in the United States. These are places I hope you will consider visiting not just during Black History Month, but any time throughout the year so that you can study and learn about the history of our beautiful people.

Next up, I shared Crash Course in Black History. As I made clear in that article, I do not claim any special expertise in Black history. But I'm making it my business to get a better grasp on what has occurred, what is currently happening, and what can potentially happen in the future by really looking at what has already been written. There’s so much I'm finding out that we should’ve learned in school but were never taught.

And that led me to finding the Crash Course that I featured that focuses on Black American History through the voice of writer, teacher, and Doctor Clint Smith. This 50-episode course offers the tools and language to better understand and participate in conversation around Black American History in an easily digestible manner.

Black history is human history and one that we can all learn from.

Of my more recent articles, I was excited to share with you my nighttime routine. I gave you a look into what I do each night before bed and shared why you need a bedtime regimen too.

A nighttime routine doesn’t have to be complicated. It’s just a set of activities you do in the 30 minutes to two hours before you go to bed. One reason having a bedtime regimen is so important is that it can help you sleep better, and better sleep means better everything! When you have a bedtime regimen your routine signals to your brain that it’s time to go to sleep, making it easier to relax.

One thing you’ve probably learned about me from reading my articles is that I’m obsessed with self-care. In my article, Self-Care on the Go, I shared how I prioritize self-care even when I’m traveling – which is A LOT.

You may not be traveling to Europe for tennis training or tournaments, but you’re probably busy nonetheless. And when you get busy, self-care probably gets pushed off your to-do list. Or maybe it’s never been on your to-do list! But I believe that self-care is for EVERYBODY and that’s why I love writing about self-care and offering you tips on how to take care of yourself too no matter how hectic your days may be.

In September of 2021 my team at the Sloane Stephens Foundation and I created the Doc & Glo Scholarship in honor of my grandfather and grandmother, Dr. Noel and Gloria Smith.

In a recent article, I got the chance to introduce you to one of the recipients of the scholarship.

Tori Bell of San Leandro, California, has faced plenty of hardships in her life, including the loss of her brother, who was murdered in 2021. But this tragedy motivates Tori to continue go after her goal of becoming a nurse. To say that Tori is a hard worker is an understatement.

“I worked while pregnant and carried my son to full term,” Tori explains. “At the same time, I was going to school and working full time hours during the Covid-19 pandemic.”

She continues to juggle motherhood with her studies, often doing homework while her son naps or during his playtime. Tori’s work ethic and passion for helping others set her apart from other applicants.

What the Future Holds

In the coming months, you can expect more articles on self-care and more on my day-to-day life outside of tennis.

I want this space to continue to reflect my off-court passions and I’ll be giving you the scoop on some special projects I have in the works too.

But this platform isn’t all about me. I want to make sure I’m creating content that’s informative and inspirational.

As my team at the Sloane Stephens Foundation and I continue to brainstorm ways to give back to the community, I’ll be sharing those endeavors, too, -- including more articles introducing you to more of the inaugural recipients of the Doc & Glo Scholarship.

Your Feedback Matters

I’m so grateful that Bulletin allows me to showcase all the things I love in one space. But I want to make sure you love it here too!

So, let me know what kind of content you want to see.

  • What topics do you want me to cover?

  • What are you eager to learn about that you think I could help you explore?

  • Do you want more articles on Black culture?

  • Are there any trending topics you’re eager to discuss?

  • Is there anything in pop culture you want me to dive into?

  • What resources and tools do you want me to share?

  • What stories do you want me to tell?

Sound off in the comments!