Check Out Some of My Favorite Writers On Bulletin

I'm so happy you stopped by to see what goes on in my wheel-house when I'm off-court. Keep up with me by subscribing to my Bulletin: CLICK HERE! Join our growing community.

This is my first ever weekend publication! If you’re a tennis fan, you know that I was competing this week. I initially was going to share one of the many pieces I already have written, for times like this, when I’m on the road or playing and I might not have the capacity to produce something fresh and in the moment, but I really enjoy the flow of my Bulletin. I try to plan ahead, for my peace, then I end up just going in a different direction, keeping the publication true to how I feel and what’s on my heart when it’s time to share.

It’s the first week of November and this will be my seventeenth Bulletin article post. This is a big deal for me. I haven’t written this much since graduating from school! I have really enjoyed having this space to express my creativity and share more of what I’m into and who I am, with all of the people who exist on and visit this platform. It’s been a consistent and consecutive four months of me learning how to be more intentional about balancing my work-life with my life outside of work. Having this site, blog, or space, however you all wish to identify it, has been my first big step in doing just that.

I aim to share a piece, a week. Because of that, I’m forced to slow down and reflect more often, about what’s on my heart, mind, and how my spirit is feeling. That’s allowed me to do so much deep diving into my interests and my mental-location at the time of composing.

I have been delighted with where my keyboard/pen has taken me. I have been able to get some of the things that have been in my head, out, so I can make room for other things. I have been able to share what I have learned or have come across that I think needs to be shared for others to access. I have even been able to free my mom up from hearing me vent so much. It’s truly been a blessing for me. Writing feels like a form of low-level therapy or self-care.

This week, I’m not really feeling it. I’m actually pretty depleted from the traveling, time-zone change, playing, and closing out the remainder of this year. So, today I’m going to honor myself and not even try to fake like I can come up with some deep, helpful, or impactful piece of writing.

Instead, I wanted to use this weekend post to share some of the other great contributors on Bulletin, who I’m sure have shared something this week that will check one or all of those boxes of being resourceful, informative, entertaining, or impactful. There have been so many great additions to the platform, since its launch in June of this year, I can’t wait to have completed at least one piece from each writer.

I said earlier in this piece, in joining this platform, this is the most I’ve written in a long time, but it’s also the most I’ve read in a long time. There are so many people, in one easily accessible place, sharing such a wealth of experience and information. The writers I mention are not the only ones I wish for all of you to take a look at; I’m just going to share the ones I have had the pleasure of enjoying when I have found myself with some down-time. So, in no particular order, here goes:

If you enjoy interviews, being up on the latest trends, or get to know people in the spotlight in a different way. Aline has already shared great interviews with Vera Wang, Eric Ripert, Donna Karan and more. She’s also shared some of the hottest trends and spots to visit on her Top 10 newsletters: Dresses for Summer 2021, Hampton Restaurants, Boots for Fall/Winter 2021 and so much more. Her latest newsletter, "70% of the U.S. Female Population is a Size 14 or Higher..." So, Why is Fashion Ignoring Them?”, is a must read!

Miss Rachel Lindsay Abasolo, who I was first “introduced” to via The Bachelor, has been such a great addition to the platform. If you’re into thoughtful and HONEST takes on hot topics, social issues, relationships, and everything that the mind tries to process, that’s the newsletter to check out. One of the pieces I enjoyed was Free the Period, where she spoke of California Governor, Gavin Newsom, signing a bill mandating all California public schools, both high school and CSU campuses, required by law to provide free menstrual products to all students. She shared such great hopes and insight regarding this monumental decision.

I’ve followed Alex Elle on social media for years. Her simplistic posts, with just a sticky note or piece of paper with powerful reflections, affirmations, and reminders has really helped me over the years. My screenshot folder is filled with her words. She’s been such a gem to Bulletin with her Gratitude Weekly posts. It’s a place I visit when I need to feel in community in my journey. Check out here latest post: Gratitude for Arrival.

I don’t know who else went to a school where Tuesday’s with Morrie was a part of the curriculum, but that book was such an eye-opening experience to travel through in my young impressionable teenage years. When I found out Mr. Albom was a part of the Bulletin platform, I immediately wanted to find out what he would share. I was delighted by the beauty of his first Bulletin publication, Their voices can drown out a storm, where he shared the stories of the children of his orphanage in Port-Au-Prince, Haiti. The way in which he captures each individual as beautifully and authentically as they each are, is what I enjoy most.

Ashley shares conversations on incarceration and community. I happened upon her page when the new batch of contributors were introduced. I then, later on, revisited and saw an article titled, Talking With My Dad, it was this beautiful dialogue between her and her father (formally incarcerated), about his experience in the prison system, upbringing, onus, parenthood, transformation, and seeking help/community. I was so moved by this piece. I can’t wait for Ashley to have deeper conversations about the things her father told her they could dive deeper into at a later time. I will be front and center for that.

I was drawn to this contributor because of her site description: The Money Minute teaches you how to become more financially literate and savvy. It is designed to apply to everyone looking to get their financial lives together and get it all...once and for all. Because Nicole is doing all of the things that I’ve constantly said they should be teaching kids from elementary school, into adulthood. This is a great newsletter to learn better practices and gather more information around how to make money work for you, as hard as you or we all work for it. There’s not just one article that I would recommend to anyone, her entire publication is meant to be dived into to help the collective.

Those are only six of the 100+ contributors. Check all of them out, by clicking HERE and find exactly what you’re looking for OR what you never knew you needed! Enjoy!!

Sloane Stephens at the Billie Jean King Cup in Prague. November 2021.

I might make this a thing; sharing some of the Bulletin articles that I've enjoyed. What do you all think about that?