Learn About My $20,000 Educational Scholarship: Doc & Glo

Deadline to Apply for the Doc & Glo $20,000 Educational Scholarship is March 2, 2022

At the beginning of 2021, when I suddenly lost both my grandparents, I immediately started brainstorming ways in which I could preserve their legacies and continue to honor their lives in a meaningful way, while I was still alive and well.

From when I was a child and into adulthood, my grandparents always emphasized a few things. One of these was that learning is a lifelong process. For them, education was meant to be an integral part of life, not just available inside of educational institutions.

Honestly speaking, I have not always been the biggest fan of schooling or education. I have actually thanked God, on numerous occasions, for my athletic ability, since, for a long time, after graduating high school, I had no desire to continue on in higher education. Though my Tennis career provided me with opportunities to take care of myself, help my family, and travel the world, my grandparents still made it their business to express their beliefs around pursuing higher education, particularly since I had access to it. 

Despite my differing views from my grandparents or absence of desire in terms of schooling, as I have matured and observed society at large, I have come to believe that education is one of the most important elements of progress and growth. My motivation to return to college and earn my Bachelors at Indiana University East in 2017 came from that evolution of understanding.

As those wheels spun, I came upon an opportunity to partner with Bold.org, a scholarship, fellowship, and grant platform, that has successfully helped students/learners unlock opportunities and improve access to higher education, so that the financial barriers that keep people from pursuing higher education are removed.

With their mission of fighting student debt, aligning perfectly with what we do at the Sloane Stephens’ Foundation to provide educational opportunities to underserved and underrepresented populations, in September of 2021 we created the Doc & Glo Scholarship in honor of both my grandfather and grandmother; Dr. Noel and Gloria Smith.

With the deadline soon approaching, I felt it necessary to share this information on my growing platform here, at Bulletin. If you or anyone you know are/is qualified, you/they should apply and take advantage of not just my scholarship, but the many other fellowship, scholarship, and grant opportunities that Bold offers to those who could utilize financial support in their educational pursuits.

If you are reading this, I hope and encourage you to share this opportunity with your network/s. During this time of continuing negotiation over the cost of education and the way in which students are supported, I am happy to be a resource to those who need it.

Per https://bold.org/scholarships/sloane-stephens/

Mission

To increase and improve the opportunities available to underserved children through education and sports.

Eligibility Requirements

GPA:

Education Level:

Must have a 2.5 GPA or higher

Must be a current high school senior or undergraduate student

Sloane Stephens has always been committed to giving back and supporting her community. As she competes at the highest levels of her sport, winning the US Open in 2017 and rising to become the #3 ranked player in the world, she also dedicates her time to charitable efforts with the Sloane Stephens Foundation. She founded the nonprofit in 2013 at the age of 20 to provide more opportunities to underserved children through education and sports.

Through her foundation, Sloane has helped level the playing field for over 8,000 underserved youth nationwide who otherwise would not have access to safe environments to learn, exercise or play.

Sloane continues making her impact through the $20,000 Sloane Stephens Doc & Glo Scholarship, created in honor of her late grandparents who were instrumental in Sloane’s life and firm believers in the power of education. This scholarship will support 20 students in paying for their education and following their dreams. All high school seniors and current undergraduate students with a GPA of 2.5 or higher are eligible to apply.

To apply, please share which quality you most value in yourself, and how you believe this characteristic will help you in life.

ESSAY TOPIC

What quality/characteristic do you value most in yourself and why? How do you feel having this quality/characteristic will help you in your life journey?

When is the scholarship application deadline?

The application deadline is Mar 2, 2022. Winners will be announced on Mar 16, 2022.

How will scholarship application information be used?

Your privacy is a top priority on the Bold.org platform, and you can find our privacy policy in full here. You may opt out of communications from Bold.org at any time, and unless we’ve first notified you and gotten your consent, you’ll never receive communication from any third parties related to personal information you give us.

What is the scholarship award?

The scholarship award is $20,000. 20, $1000 awards.

When will the scholarship winner be chosen? How will they be notified?

The winner will be publicly announced on Mar 16, 2022. Prior to the announcement date, we may contact finalists with additional questions about their application. We will work with donors to review all applications according to the scholarship criteria. Winners will be chosen based on the merit of their application.

How will the scholarship award be paid?

We will send the award check to the financial aid office of the winner’s academic institution or future academic institution in their name, and in the name of their institution (depending on the school’s requirements). If the student's academic institution does not have a financial aid office, the student will receive the funding directly.

How will my scholarship application be verified?

Before we award the scholarship, the winner will be required to verify their academic enrollment status by providing a copy of their most recent transcript.

How should I get in touch with questions?

If you have any questions about this scholarship or the Bold.org platform, just email [email protected] and we’ll get back to you as quickly as we can.

Does the scholarship have terms and conditions?

Yes. The terms and conditions for this scholarship can be found here.