I's Married Now - Check Out My After the Wedding Interview

Unreleased Photos Inside

I'm so happy you stopped by to see what goes on in my wheel-house when I'm off-court. Keep up with me by subscribing to my Bulletin: CLICK HERE! Join our growing community.

This is a really special article for me. As many of you know, I got married on New Year's Day. I have already done a lot of interviews for different publications, but I asked my mother to come up with some questions to ask, so we could publish our own, for all of you! I hope you enjoy!

Thank you for all the well wishes!

**ALL IMAGES CAPTURED BY STANLEY BABB OF STANLO PHOTOGRAPHY**

Sybil: How was the wedding?

Sloane: I was smiling from ear-to-ear at all of the festivities that preceded the wedding. We knew people were traveling from all over the world, so we wanted to make sure to give them an experience. We did a tennis tournament, a crawfish boil, wine tasting, and a New Year’s Eve champagne toast. After those events, I was prepared for the wedding to give me even more of the feels. My expectations were truly exceeded.

For the ceremony, I got to strut down my glass runway, and secretly, I’ve always wanted to walk down a runway, this felt like that. I was wearing this beautiful custom-made dress by Galia Lahav couture, a crystal headpiece by Maria Elena, and some bomb shoes by Amina Muaddi. I felt like the Black Cinderella. Not only did my runway dreams come true, but at the end of that runway I found a fine piece of man who fits perfectly into every part of who I am, and has committed to spend the rest of his life with me. To make the moment even more beautiful, the same man who literally threw me in the trash when I was a little girl, has now decided I'm his treasure. *laughs* What more could I ask for?

As for the reception, best party I have ever attended. It was great to see friends and family I hadn't seen in several months, some even a year, just enjoy themselves. The room was truly filled with smiles and laughter. I danced until I couldn’t feel my feet anymore. I sang along to the music until I lost my voice. I was at the photo booth being a complete child. Mom, you know I don’t drink, I don’t club, but I had my one little shot of tequila and proceeded to have the time of my life.

As soon as the night ended, Jozy couldn't stop talking about how much fun he had. I didn’t even know the man could talk that much. So, I’d say our wedding weekend was more than we could have ever dreamed.

Sybil: Are you relieved you're not planning a wedding anymore?

Sloane: You already know the answer to this question, mom! It's a relief, actually, I'd go as far as saying that I'm ecstatic because I'm not planning a wedding anymore. Even though I have had to prepare and plan for many big moments in my life, this was by far the most stressful. It probably wouldn't have been as stressful if we weren't in a pandemic and working against the virus's will. But it pushed me to use parts of my mind I haven't used for a very long time. It's good to know my whole brain works *laughs*. Thank God for you (Mom) and Lindsay for supporting me so much during this process. Every time I would lose my mind, I could count on one or both of you to find it for me again.

I literally don’t know what I would have done without the mom/best friend duo!

Sybil: Where are you going on your honeymoon?

Sloane: Sadly, I won't be taking a honeymoon because I’m flying to Australia to begin my tennis season for 2022. If our busy schedules didn't interfere, I guess I could tell you where I would have liked to go with Jozy. I’ve always wanted to do one of those above water villas in Fiji, Bora Bora, Tahiti, or any beautiful place that has them. The amount of bathing suit pictures I’d be posting a day. . .I think it was best that I was too busy to go laughs*.

Second option, I would’ve been interested in doing a Safari.

Third, I’d probably say, go back to Greece. Jozy and I loved Mykonos that last time we visited!

Hopefully, we will be able to make time to do one of those three things together this year, but when we planned the wedding, we knew the honeymoon would have to wait a little/lot longer than most newlyweds plan.

Sybil: Does being married feel different?

Sloane: My first feeling after getting married was, FINALLY! Jozy became my husband a long time ago, if you ask me. Getting married felt purely symbolic to me because I knew I've loved and wanted to spend my life with Jozy for years now, that getting married was merely about bringing our families and friends together in support of our union, and to officially transition from being recognized as a couple, to husband and wife.

Sybil: What are you most excited for in this union?

Sloane: Having the chance to spend time with Jozy is one of the things I am most looking forward to. We have never really had the luxury of spending lots of uninterrupted time together as professional athletes, because our schedules literally separate us for long stretches. Which, even saying that right now and knowing that’s our reality, to love someone so deeply with so much distance, I have to double-down and say, I can’t wait to experience the depth of our love, adoration, security, and joy as we get to be in each other’s presence more consistently.

I want to travel more with Jozy. I want to take cooking classes together. I want to spend the holidays with a hint of reception vibes. . .that means, more music and dancing. I want to create family traditions of our own. It’s the simple things I really look forward to.

Sybil: Is there anything else you want to share about this next chapter or role that you’re entering as a wife/woman?

Sloane: Um, I don’t, but I guess I should share something. It has been interesting for me to think about the women I have come to admire throughout my life and the roles they have played as partners/wives. Mom, of course you are one of those women. I haven't really thought about what kind of wife I wanted to be, even before getting married, but I've always thought about the type of woman I wanted to be. I think that will lend to how I show up as a wife, so, I’m pretty confident that my best foot will always be put forward, even when it gets difficult. My New Year intentions, which I shared in my article from last week, are the beginning practices to being the kind of woman I want to show up as, for myself, my husband, my stepson, family and friends every day. Those steps are: extending grace, replacing negative talk, being more present, and practicing gratitude. I’m entering this new season with a desire to grow in life and in love with my husband. I appreciate that Jozy supports me at every point, knowing that being my best self , also means showing up better for our family. It’s exciting.