Meet Doc & Glo Scholarship recipient Kenzie Lowe

Get to know more of the inaugural class of scholarship winners

Thanks for visiting Off-Court! I love connecting and sharing with all of you. Have you signed up for a 2 week free trial of my premium fitness and wellness content yet? You can check out a sneak peek of the content here. Let me know what you think!

I'm feeling nostalgic seeing all the first day of school pictures and am sending all students my best wishes for a productive, happy, and growth-filled year ahead. A few weeks ago, I announced that Lemon Perfect is joining me in support of Year 2 of the Doc & Glo Scholarship, so I figured what better time to introduce you to another one of our incredible scholarship recipients.

In July, I featured scholarship recipient Tori Bell. Today, I want you to meet another scholarship winner -- Kenzie Lowe of Crocker, Missouri.

Kenzie is studying nursing at the College of the Ozarks. Her application stood out, in part, because, just like me, family means everything to her.

“I was adopted from China when I was one year old,” Kenzie explains. “I was blessed with amazing parents who ended up adopting six girls from China throughout the years. Having the opportunity to help them out financially would be such a gift.”

Kenzie has struggled with anxiety and self-doubt, but this hasn’t dampened her work ethic as she has juggled school with working part-time at a local supermarket. Kenzie also describes herself as a sensitive person, but she’s come to realize that this is a strength, not a weakness.

Read on to learn more about Kenzie.

SS: How did you become interested in nursing and what sparked your interest in being a labor and delivery nurse in particular? We haven't talked about this yet, but my grandfather, the "Doc" of Doc and Glo, was an OB-GYN in Fresno, California and delivered thousands of babies. I really felt connected to him when reading your application and knew he would be proud to have you as a scholarship recipient.

KL: I was never really 100 percent set on nursing as my career but once I took my health science course at my local career center, I knew it was something I wanted to pursue. I became interested in labor and delivery because of my niece. When I went to the hospital waiting for her to be born, I admired the nurses who were taking care of my sister-in-law. I realized I wanted to be the person there for new moms to help support and care for them and their babies.

SS: Wow, I love that your sister-in-law had such a positive experience and you were so impacted by it. I've often spoken about how my experiences were shaped growing up around my family's funeral home business and observing how they helped grieving families at the end of life, so I can identify with your calling to support people during the beginning of life based on that experience.

What helped you to realize that being a sensitive person was a strength and not a weakness? That is a huge revelation.

KL: What helped me realize that being sensitive was a strength and not a weakness was trying to sit down and think about why I was so emotional about things. I thought to myself, “Is it really a bad thing that I care this deeply about things?” The answer to that is no, it shows compassion and empathy. Although I know there are some things that I shouldn’t cry over but I still don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing.

SS: I love that self-reflection. How have you been able to go after your goals while overcoming the anxiety and self-doubt?

I have such an amazing support system that helps me in times of stress and anxiety. I often find myself doubting myself about my abilities, but it really helps when you have people cheering you on silently or even when they just give you little words of encouragement.

Loving Kenzie's style!

SS: You’re very close to your family, as am I, and you’ve mentioned that going to college will be tough because you’ll be two hours away from them. What do you plan to do to get through those times when you feel homesick?

KL: The college I have chosen to attend has a summer work program to pay for my room and board which is where I work on campus for about 40 hours a week all summer. Therefore, I have been at college already for a couple of months now and it truly is hard. My sisters go to this college too so that has been such a huge help in my transition into college. Other than going to my sisters in times of need, I try to go for walks or go explore Branson, Missouri more. Finding new friends has helped a lot too.

SS: How will the Doc & Glo scholarship help you achieve your academic goals?

KL: This scholarship will help me tremendously and I am very grateful for this. Books are not cheap at all, especially as a nursing major, so I will be able to buy these books to help further my education. I will be able to purchase school supplies and everything I need for college without the stress of running out of money. Also, since it is a general scholarship, my college will allow me to use some of the money for transportation to go home! Which I am very grateful for so thank you!

SS: Love that! Other than becoming a nurse, what are some of your other goals for the future?

KL: One goal I have always wanted to do in life is travel. I want to be able to travel across the world. There’s so much out there that I would just love to see. I don’t know when I would be able to, but I am really determined to make it happen.

SS: I am confident you'll get there, Kenzie! Please keep us posted on all of your successes, and best of luck with your college journey.

Rooting for you, future Nurse Lowe!

I am so proud of Kenzie and all of the Doc & Glo scholarship recipients! To learn more about the Doc & Glo Scholarship visit Bold.org. All high school seniors and current undergraduate students with a GPA of 2.5 or higher are eligible to apply.