Honoring My Grandparents Every Day 💚🕊️

Today is the first day of Black History Month

Meet My Grandparents, Doc and Glo 💚

On this first day of Black History Month, I wanted to share more about my incredible grandparents, Doc and Glo. I am who I am because of them and I strive to carry on their legacy.

Doctor Noel Smith (Doc) and his wife Gloria (Glo) were married for more than half a century. During that time, they raised eight children, several grandchildren and were inspiring leaders in the greater Fresno area. As an obstetrician, Dr. Smith delivered more than 20,000 babies in his career while still finding time to be an active participant in his community, as a member of the NAACP and various local boards and commissions.

Gloria was an energetic and committed community activist, a supporter of the arts, education and whose belief in personal empowerment impacted everyone that she came in contact with. Gloria was President of the National Council of Negro Women, a Board Member of the Fresno Arts Center, Project Director of the Job Core as well as Co-Chair of the Salute to Marion Anderson among other organizations.  

One of Doc and Glo's lasting lessons was the importance of self-care in all forms. Self-care is not selfish, it is essential. They taught me that in order to show up fully for myself and for others, I must refill my own cup. When you take care of your body and value your wellbeing, the world receives that. Every time I do a face mask, spend a little extra time applying lotion, or make a choice that nourishes me, I honor the lessons they taught me as leaders and community builders and sustain myself to carry on their legacy. 

My grandparents led by example, never taking the easy way out, but committing to doing their absolute best in everything that they had a hand in, whether it was delivering a baby or offering counsel to someone who needed it. Throughout my life I’ve leaned on their strength and compassion more than once, and they were always there for me. I continue to find clarity and direction from both the wise words and actions that they consistently demonstrated. I strive to honor them and pass those good works on.