My Mom is Black History!

Sybil Smith Ed.D - Black History

“Black people can’t swim” was a common narrative I heard growing up. The USA Swimming Foundation reports that 64% of African American children have never learned how to swim, 79% of children from families that earn less than $50,000 a year have never learned how to swim, and 76% of parents report that their children would be more likely to take up swimming if they saw an athlete who looked like them. Born to and developing under the same roof as the first African American female swimmer to be named a first-team Division I All-American, and the only All-American in Boston University's women's swimming history, for me, made the statement appear to be off, or missing further explanation.

In honor of Black History Month, of course I had to carve out space to highlight my incredible mother. As always, revisiting her life opens the door to deeper learning. Even though I could talk about her all day, I thought it would be better if she spoke for herself, so I interviewed her.

Who do I think I am? Oprah?

Sybil Smith Ed.D, known affectionately as, my (Sloane Stephens') fine momma, is still recognized as the most exceptional swimmer in Boston U history. She won 80 consecutive dual meets in her four-year swimming career, never losing a race. Seven of her university swim records remain unbeaten, and she was inducted into Boston University's Hall of Fame shortly after I was born. She basically set the standard.

That’s what I find so captivating about my mother’s place in Black History. In a sense, it represents the beauty, strength, and capabilities of Black people. We are the beginning, middle, and end. No matter how difficult things are, we always find a way to overcome, rise above, and reach our goals

In preparation to sit down and speak to my mom with a deeper understanding of the history of our people and the water, I began to read historical articles and stories about Africans and swimming, then became engrossed with stories about African Americans and swimming, and slowly began to see my mother's swimming as a silent act of rebellion. Although she played a sport dominated by white athletes, she was determined to pursue her passion and to reach goals beyond her own expectations, despite the barriers.

Sloane: When you were growing up, was there a narrative about Black people and swimming?

Sybil: In the early 70s, I began swimming competitively at age 5. Back then, black people and swimming really weren't a part of a narrative. In the black community, the neighborhood and community pools were full of good swimmers. Black people have always been swimmers, even when there weren't many or any black swimmers competing at the high school or collegiate level.

However, having said that, I should also point out that the drowning rate in the black community is significantly higher than the other communities due to a lack of access to drowning prevention and swimming lessons.

Sloane: What sparked your interest and love for swimming?

Sybil: Swimming became my passion over time. My very first experience was at a local swim school dedicated to drown-proofing. After learning how to swim, taking more lessons seemed like the obvious next step. Ultimately, it was during those lessons that I learned how much I love swimming.

Sloane: Besides being your sport of choice, what made swimming special to you?

Sybil: Swimming was my daily outlet. As the seventh child out of eight, I knew from a very young age just how important it was for me to find time alone, without interruptions, so I could sort out my own thoughts. That's what the water was for me. It was my therapy, before I even knew what therapy was. At the age of 12 or 13, I remember I loved the peace I found in the swimming pool. As soon as I finished college swimming, I couldn't find that same feeling anywhere else in my life, so I continued swimming for a couple of years, just to have the comfort and solitude. As I got into my teens I definitely had already developed a natural competitiveness from being a part of a huge family. As one of the youngest of the tribe, I was always competing for something; attention, the bathroom, tv-time, games, snacks, etc. My odds for winning in the water were much greater than winning at home.

Sloane: According to your earlier response, there weren’t any Black high school or collegiate competitive swimmers when you were younger; with no representation, from whom did you draw inspiration?

Sybil: I grew up in a small town that happened to have a lot of really good swimmers. Growing up, I watched the older kids compete, get college scholarships, and even make the Olympic team. I was inspired by other swimmers’ achievements. I always wanted to accomplish the same or greater.

As I grew older, more and more black families in my community introduced their children to the sport, which was pleasing to witness.

My first awareness of a black collegiate swimmer came when I was 17/18 years old. The year I was recruited by UCLA I had the pleasure of learning about Chris Silva, a Black swimmer on the U.S. National Team and competitor at the World University Games in the early 80's.

Chris Silva: First Black athlete to earn a spot on the USA Swimming National Team as well as the first Black swimmer to represent the United States in international competition at the World University Games in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada in 1983.

Sloane: You touched on being inspired by the accomplishments of other swimmers. In your swimming career, what do you consider your greatest achievement?

Sybil: The ups and downs of swimming were my favorite parts. It built so much character. As far as accomplishments go, I can't single out just one that I consider to be my greatest.

Sloane: Come on mom! You’re making me look like a bad interviewer. You have to give the people something!

Sybil: For interviews sake, I'll give you something. Up until the last couple of college dual meets of my career, I had no idea I was on my way to going undefeated in dual meet competition. Once that pressure kicked in, I was miserable until I met my goal. So, that's probably the most memorable experience in my swimming career, and something I'm especially proud of. Hard to believe it actually happened!

Sloane: Mom, you’re a legend. Believe it! To whoever is reading this, she couldn’t pick out just one, because there are so many!

Sybil: Oh, Sloaney.

Sloane: Let me put my interviewer hat back on. I got out of character for a second. In a white-dominated sport, what was it like being a Black person/Black woman?

Sybil: It was a privilege for me to have incredible experiences in the sport. When I was young, I didn't feel like the odd one out. My mom's kindness and support of other children and their parents may have contributed to me being accepted by all the swimming families. Our swimming families are like real families, we stick together and take care of one another. The memories I have of my swimming friends and the time I spent traveling up and down the state to swim meets still stir emotion in me to this very day.

Being the only black person on a swimming team did not make me feel different until I got to Boston for college. I felt like I stuck out like a sore thumb at that point. It surprised my friends who were in other sports to see a black swimmer, as well as some of my teammates on the swim team. While I was treated well, for a variety of reasons, I always felt different.

Sloane: Where did you find the most encouragement throughout your career?

Sybil: Throughout my career, it was my mother who encouraged me the most. Mom was very competitive but also very concerned with ensuring I had access to the same opportunities as everyone else. Swimming is incredibly intense with two and three training sessions a day, and Mom was always making sure I got to trainings and meets. She was THAT parent. My mom was confident that I would succeed one day in swimming even before I ever had any success. Based on the fact I was built like a string bean, I'm not sure what she saw in me. I still believed her when she said I'd be good. The reason I went to training every day and stuck to it was because of her belief in me. I kept on pushing with my Mom's support until one day, everything came together.

Mom and Grandma

Sloane: The best thing about Grandma is her love. That's beautiful Mom. You know I'm not a crier, but that tugged at my heartstrings. *pauses to gather myself* Hearing and watching the joy that's coming through as you speak about how Grandma loved you, is *phew* Let me get it together. *fans eyes* We were doing so well! I was just starting to feel like a real interviewer. Let me get myself back together. Mom, I love you.

Sybil: *laughs at my theatrics* I love you too Sloaney.

Sloane: When it comes to Grandma, we know she loved to look and feel good. As an athlete, I can throw in a weave or braids and play tennis when I know I'll be sweating a lot. That kind of versatility wasn't available in swimming, I would assume. Black women's hair is so delicate. Even today, I hear women say, "I don't want to get my hair wet!" Swimming being your sport, how did you take care of your hair in your swimming days?

Sybil: In my younger days, I wore pigtails and a swim cap. Four pigtails and I was set. Once I got a perm, my hair was much easier to manage. There was a lot of deep conditioning and hot oil treatments involved.

Sloane: Let's talk about your skincare routine while we're talking beauty care. I know chlorine can do a number on your skin, what helped you stay fresh faced and glowing?

Sybil: Cocoa butter was my best friend.

Sloane: Wow, Mom!

Sybil: What?!

Sloane: In the day and age of using 13 products to maintain flawless skin, here you go, Ms. I just use cocoa butter! We are not worthy, is what I'm trying to say.

Sybil: Sloane! You're a mess.

Mom and Grandma

Sloane: Back to the more serious questions. Swimming was quite a successful career for you. Did you ever wish to pursue it further? If so, why didn't you?

Sybil: I would have loved to continue my swimming career but I chose to pursue graduate school and coaching. The ultimate goal for me was making an Olympic team. After 1988 Olympic Trials, and not having great performances, I was ready to move on.

Sloane: When you stopped competing, did you make any other contributions to the sport?

Sybil: After college, I coached swimming for a number of years and worked for the Multicultural Swimming Program of the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Fort Lauderdale, FL. In this way, I kept connected to the sport and gradually became more of an ambassador and supporter.

Sloane: Did you ever want me to take swimming up as my sport of choice?

Sybil: Child, please! I never thought you would enjoy swimming as much as I did. When you were little, you were incredibly bored at swim meets (when I coached). Your preference was fun, not swimming.

Me, with no interest in swimming.

Sloane: What's your relationship with swimming like now? Are you still interested in it or is it a past love that you forgot about?

Sybil: I am a huge fan of swimming and keep up with the sport regularly. Whenever the NCAA meets come around, I watch and attend a few UCLA and USC dual meet competitions. I dragged you to the swimming competition at the Rio Olympics to watch Simone Manuel and Leah Neal. Meeting them was such a powerful experience. I was so inspired by them and proud of their achievements.

Sloaney, thank you for taking the photo with those two! It felt like I was there as a swimmer with two of the greatest in the world. It was a moment I lived through my child. I loved every moment!

Sloane: You're talking like that about them and I'm sure they felt the same about meeting you.

Sybil: Sloane, you've given me five compliments in a row. *touches my head with the back of her hand* Are you okay?

Sloane: Don't have these people thinking I don't give you compliments. Every word we say will be transcribed into the interview. *laughs*

Sybil: I don't want that for you. *in the most sarcastic voice* Sloane, thank you for always showering me with compliments.

Sloane: Do you ever have an itch to get back into swimming as a coach or maybe start a swim program?

Sybil: I love the idea of being involved in swimming, but once you get involved it’s all encompassing and I really don’t think I could commit enough time to do something great.

Sloane: What advice would you give to an aspiring Black swimmer, who is entering a space where there is very little representation?

Sybil: Be your best self every day! Don’t worry about what anyone says or thinks, just find a way to be your best every single day.

Sloane: Closing us out; in your opinion, how does learning to swim benefit children?

Sybil: Well, 71 percent of the world is water. If we think it’s important to learn how to walk when less than 30 percent of the world is land, I think swimming should be just as important.

As I mentioned previously, the drowning statistic is really what makes having this skill so crucial. To put it in a lighter context, I consider it great exercise, entertainment, and a healthy outlet.

Sloane: Well, that's all I have. Mom, thank you for your participation. I know you don't like to talk about yourself, but it's important to me that you be recognized for your contributions in history.

Sybil: I'm going to cry. Thank you Sloaney.

Sloane: You're so dramatic!