Why You Need A Style Statement

What do your clothes say about you?

Why You Need a Style Statement

Since the release of my swimwear collection with Kitty and Vibe, I’ve been thinking a lot about my style, and I don’t simply mean that I’ve been thinking about the clothes in my closet. Lately, I’ve been pondering my style statement.

A style statement is more than your fashion preferences. A style statement is what you want your clothes to say about you. So it’s not just about what kinds of clothes you like you but also why you like them.

As I think about the Sloane Stephens x Kitty and Vibe Collection, I hope it conveys that I’m versatile and that I’m eager to uplift all different types of women. In the collection, there’s something for everyone – bikinis and one-pieces and cover-ups to match. You’ll find swimwear in bold and beautiful colors as well as classic staples.

If you think there’s no need to worry about something like a style statement, think again. You often hear career development experts say that everyone has a personal brand whether they realize it or not because your personal brand is essentially your reputation. I say the same goes for personal style. You have a personal style whether you realize it or not.

Has a friend ever bought you a clothing item and said they picked it out because it “looked like you”? What that friend means is that the dress, top, or pants they purchased reflected what they see as your style. Just as it’s important to be intentional about your personal brand, you should be intentional about your personal style because what you wear makes a statement about you before you say a word.

Look through the clothes in your closet. Look at the clothes you’re wearing right now. What do they say about you? Do you like what they’re saying? If not, how can you change the narrative?

Knowing your style statement can boost your confidence too. When you know exactly what you want your outfit to say about you and you’re wearing clothes that convey that message, you’ll feel more self-assured. I recently came across stylist Allison Bornstein’s TikTok, where she uses a “Three Word Method” to describe and define the style of celebs. I’m still thinking about my 3 words!

I also just started an LTK account so I can easily catalogue all my looks and inspired looks for your shopping ease. Follow me on their app and let me know what looks you’re loving!

How to Write Your Style Statement

I think you should write down your style statement. Or at least type it out in the Notes app of your phone. And use that as your guide whenever you’re shopping. Just think about how much money you’ll save if you stopped buying everything that caught your eye on Instagram or TikTok and you were more thoughtful about your purchases – only buying clothes and accessories in line with your style statement.

When you get intentional about your style, you no longer mindlessly follow fashion trends or copy the looks of your favorite influencers. You do you!

Even though fashion is about what you look like on the outside, style begins with who you are on the inside.

What’s your desired image? What adjectives do you want people to use when they describe you? If you want people to think of you as energetic or enthusiastic you may opt for bold colors or eye-catching patterns. If you want people to consider you effortlessly chic, you may go for a more minimalist and understated or classic look.

What are your values? If economic equality and environmental justice are supremely important to you, for example, you’re probably going to build your wardrobe about eco-friendly, sustainably-crafted clothing or your favorite thrift store finds.

What’s your lifestyle? As a professional athlete, I’m going to wear comfortable, functional fashion most of the time. But I want my wardrobe to have a dash of glam for special events and nights out on the town too. You’ve got to consider your work environment and your day-to-day activities. If you’re a teacher who’s on her feet lecturing all day, you’ll want to trade the stilettos for some cute but comfortable sandals, boots or flats.

Once you’re clear on your desired image, your values, and your lifestyle, you can then think about what you like. What are your favorite colors, patterns, textures, and silhouettes? What accessories do you enjoy wearing?

Define your core style attributes. What key words capture the essence of your personal style? They could be classic, minimalist, sophisticated, bohemian, edgy, eclectic, or vibrant – just to name a few. These words should align with the adjectives you used to describe your desired image. And it’s perfectly fine to be a fusion of different types of styles.

Put it all together in a one to two-sentence style statement. Here’s an example: Effortlessly chic with an artsy flair, my style is a fusion of timeless elegance and free-spirited individuality. Through captivating colors and free-flowing fabrics, I exude confidence and power while still being approachable and feminine.

Now it’s your turn. Write your style statement and go rock this runway called life!