NYC Insider Recs from A True New Yorker

Meet my friend Malika!

I’m back in New York for the US Open, one of my favorite times of the year! I have so many incredible memories here (including a certain big memory from 2017). As I’ve written about before on this platform, traveling the world as a tennis pro is surreal because I typically know where my schedule will take me each year. When I was younger, I often stuck to one or two restaurants, the hotel, and the tournament site. Over time, I’ve begun to venture out a bit more and take advantage of the unique opportunity I have to spend meaningful periods of time in some of the most incredible places in the world. Once I started sharing some city guides on this platform, people began DMing me with more recommendations, local tips, and were so excited that I was experiencing their cities and cultures. 

Last year, I wrote a Pick 10 article about reasons I love visiting NYC. This year, I’m going right to a local source to interview Malika Rose, a native New Yorker and real estate agent on The Abby Palanca Team at SERHANT. Before she was all of those things, she was a 13 year old junior tennis player who quickly became one of my closest friends. Malika and I have been through it all together, on and off the court. After a successful collegiate tennis career at Oklahoma State University, where she attended on a full scholarship and was All Big-12, Malika joined the WTA tour and spent a few years living out her professional tennis dreams.

Now fully back in NYC, Malika is building an incredible career as a real estate agent with one of the top teams in the city. Malika is one of the constants in my life, and I wanted to share some of her NYC tips with you to give an insider’s take to the city. It is so true that if you want to know a city or a neighborhood, ask a local real estate agent. But first, some more about Malika’s journey and some career takeaways that everyone can learn from.

Malika and I in the Hamptons

SS: Ok, Malika, this is the time to shine, honey. I know attention makes you uncomfortable, but you have a lot to say! We’re doing it. First, let’s start out from the beginning. Tell everyone how we met.

MR: I’m pretty sure we met back in like 2004 while competing at the Florida State Championships. We both stayed at the same hotel and hung out there and at the site. We lost in the first round of the main draw and ended up playing each other in the finals of the consolation draw - I won’t say who won (haha), but that’s my earliest memory of our friendship.

SS: A lot of juniors DM me and ask about the decision to turn pro or go to college. Obviously the new NIL rules make some considerations easier. What was your college decision like and what was your experience with college athletics?

MR: Oh my gosh, the months leading up to my college decision were stressful! It was so challenging to determine what was the best fit and program for me. I had a back injury during my junior year [of high school], which is arguably the most important recruiting year, so navigating that was challenging. My dream was to play professional tennis, so considering that wasn’t a viable option for me at the time was also disappointing. I look back and there are so many things I’d tell my younger self, but overall I learned so much about myself during the pre-collegiate process, which in hindsight, definitely helped navigate the four years I spent competing at OSU. My advice to any player going through the recruiting process would be to follow your instincts - pick a program and university that truly speaks to you. The team and student body will become your extended family, so it’s important to feel supported and at home.

SS: Tennis is unique in that unless you’re playing for a school or at Billie Jean Cup or something, you’re really on your own and hiring your own support team. What was it like to play an individual sport as part of a team in college? Do you feel like that network and team camaraderie has carried over into your professional life?

MR: Ha! I’ll never forget my first collegiate match for this very reason. We played against Arkansas and I was completely caught off guard by the team aspect of college tennis. The cheering, the on-court coaching, the allegiance players had to their schools, everything took me by surprise. It definitely took some time for me to open up and embrace the culture, but once you’re in it, it’s game over. Not a day went by where I wasn’t wearing our school colors.

SS: And then after that, you took the leap and turned pro. Walk us through that.

MR: So yea, after I graduated I went on the tour full-time. I had played pro events before, but not consistently, so this was me going all in. I mean, you know better than me - the tour is a grind, but the journey is also extremely rewarding. The biggest challenge was funding all the travel. I had to get creative to cut costs, but it's a reality most players face once starting off, so it wasn’t just unique to me.

We love our restaurant recs!

SS: Now I’m putting on my best Hillary Kerr Second Life podcast hat here. You made a big pivot and are now in your second career. How did you decide to move back to NYC and pursue real estate?

MR: I moved back to New York from Florida because I had injured my shoulder and needed surgery. My doctor was based in Manhattan, so I came here for the procedure and therapy. During that time, I gave life after tennis some thought because coming back from a labral tear wouldn’t be easy. Thankfully, I knew quite early that I would want to pursue a career in real estate after tennis. Then in 2020, partly due to the pandemic, I decided to get my real estate license and begin the process of joining a team. Fast forward a couple of years and now I’m a member of The Abby Palanca Team at SERHANT and loving what I do everyday.

SS: Let me see these NYC recs! Give us this local scoop.

MR: Well, as a New Yorker we always try our best to stay away from the so-called ‘tourist traps’, so my advice to anyone coming to the city is to venture out. New York offers so much more than the concrete jungle that is Manhattan. If you hop on the train and travel just 90 mins north of the city, you can explore the Hudson Valley and visit towns like Beacon, historic sites like Bannerman Castle or even hike Storm King at the state park.

Though, if you prefer to stay within the five boroughs there’s plenty to do as well. Some places I often enjoy are:

  • Prospect Park, The Brooklyn Botanic Garden and The Brooklyn Museum

    • These three attractions are adjacent to each other which makes them so easy to explore in one go.

    • (Fun fact: Prospect Park and Central Park were designed by the same architects)

  • Watch a movie at the park!

    • NYC Parks hosts many viewings across the city during the summer. I’ve been going to the screenings in DUMBO, Brooklyn each Thursday and have been loving it. There’s just something about watching a film on the water with the Manhattan skyline as the backdrop. Quite frankly, it’s unmatched! Oh, and it’s FREE!

And of course, I can’t talk about NYC recs and not discuss food! As everyone knows we have one of the best food scenes in the world, so here are some of my favorites in no particular order:

  • Smorgasburg (Various locations)

    • Smorgasburg is an outdoor food market. It’s a fun place to go and try different cuisines, support small businesses and meet the local crowd. I live blocks away from Prospect Park, so I go to the one held there on Sundays. They also host on Fridays at the World Trade Center and Saturdays in Williamsburg.

  • Awash Ethiopian (East Village location)

    • They have a few locations, but I prefer this one. I get the veggie platter and it always hits!

  • KazuNori (NoMad)

    • You might know their sister restaurant ‘Sugarfish’, but KazuNori is a must if you love sushi. Their handrolls are incredible. Also, it’s more affordable than ‘Sugarfish’ which is a plus.

  • Westlight (Williamsburg)

    • This spot is great if you’re looking for great food, drinks and VIEWS! The restaurant sits at the top of the William Vale Hotel and offers some of the best views in the city. Like I mentioned earlier, the Manhattan Skyline is unmatched so this place is worth a visit.

  • De Hot Pot (Prospect Lefferts Gardens)

    • This spot has some of the best Trinidadian food in Brooklyn. The line is usually out the door and for good reason! I typically get their doubles, which is a popular Trini street food, with tamarind and hot pepper sauce.

  • Miss Ada (Fort Greene)

    • I take all my friends here when they’re in town. It’s a great Mediterranean spot that has some of the best hummus platters in Brooklyn. My favorite dish is the salmon belly skewers - thank me later!

SS: Ok, well now I am so hungry. Thank you for that! Switching gears here - anyone that has met you for 5 seconds knows that you and your family are obsessed with F1 and more specifically with Sir Lewis Hamilton. I went to my first race at Silverstone this July and am starting to understand your love for F1. Do you want to go on the record with your predictions for the second half of the season since racing returns this weekend? Or maybe even mention a certain little side project you do with your sisters?

MR: Haha, the side project - you’re funny! So at the start of the season, my sisters and I started an F1 podcast called ‘The Shakedown’ which we record after each race. So far it has been a lot of fun and something we really enjoy doing together.

As for my predictions, you know I’m a Mercedes fan, so it's tough knowing that unless a miracle happens, their Constructors win streak will come to an end this year. I expect Red Bull will take both the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships with Mercedes coming in second place. We don’t have to get into any Ferrari drama here, but I think they'll finish third which is insane considering they have the best car.

SS: We will check back in on these predictions in a few months. Thanks for stopping by my Bulletin, Malika in the City!! Loved it!!