Pick 10: Sharing My Top Ten Jay-Z Songs

Happy Birthday, Sean Carter! December 4 2021

Since I haven't put together a pick ten in a while, I knew exactly what I would do for this one. In honor of Jay Z's 52nd Birthday, I am using this week's article to pay homage to his huge influence on music, popular, American and Black culture.

This was on my mind because, not only is it Sean Carter's birthday, but he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame a week ago, along with Tina Turner, LL Cool J, The Go-Gos, Foo Fighters, and Clarence Avant (to name a few).

Image: Complex.com

His induction began with a message from Barack Obama, the former president of the United States. It was followed by a montage of his lyrics recited by notable celebrities, including: Pharrell, Rihanna, Diddy, Regina King, MC Lyte, Ed Sheeran, Naomi Campbell, Trevor Noah, Lebron James, Jamie Foxx, Beyoncé, and even the queen herself, Blue Ivy. As if that wasn't enough, Dave Chapelle delivered an induction speech that was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. It embodied the true essence of what Jay-Z means to our community. I will put it below for anyone who hasn't seen it or would like to see it again.

Hov then enters the stage to accept his award! If I'm not mistaken, this was the first time I've ever heard Jay Z accept an award with such candor about his career/experiences, for that long, outside of his music. It was like ten minutes of Hov! Knowing his story and seeing him achieve such great success, especially as a Black man, in Hip-Hop, from the hood, is truly amazing. I actually think he’s the first living solo rapper inducted into the Rock Hall of Fame; alongside LL Cool J (another legend who we’ve had the honor of watching expand and grow into a husband, father, and all-around cultural trailblazer). I smiled at the sight of him gleaming and filled with joy on that stage. He went from ushering Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five into the Hall of Fame in 2007, to being ushered in by close friends and loved ones (mother included) in 2021. What a blessing.

Image: Wired.com

...and not to deviate from the pick ten, but it is not his music or business endeavors that most impress me. The thing I love most about Mr. Sean Carter, especially since I'm considered a public figure myself, is the way he acknowledges that he's not without flaws, but is still able to open up his life to us as it unfolds, while still maintaining his privacy, dignity, and sacrosanctity. He keeps the main thing, the main thing and we've all benefited from him doing so.

But back to business. Since there were so many angles I could have taken with this pick ten, I didn't know how to approach it. Then I decided to pick the most difficult task; which was to select ten of my favorite Jay-Z records. The easy route would have been, choosing ten of my favorite Beyonce and Jay-Z pictures.

So here goes. These are in no particular order!

Feel free to share the 10 you'd choose in the comments! It's definitely worth checking out Jay-Z's music if you haven't heard it before, you'll be blown away by the artistry.

Featured artist: Mary J. Blige

Released: 1996

2. Song: Regrets

Released: 1996

Image: Revolt.tv

You used to hold me, told me I was the best

Anything in this world I want I could possess

All that made me want is all that I could get

In order to survive, gotta learn to live with regrets (when I was young)

Jay-Z

3. Song: Streets is Watching

Album: In My Lifetime, Vol. 1

Released: 1997

4. Song: Anything

Released: 1999

Image: Genius.com

I know Momma, your little baby

But these streets raised me crazy

Product of my environment, nothing can save me

Thanks for letting me bloom, for your wisdom, for your womb

For the roof over my head, for my shoes, for my bed

For the most important lesson in life was when you said

"Strive for what you believe in, set goals and you can achieve them."

-Jay-Z

5. Song: Song Cry

Released: 2001

Released: 2001

Image: TheAtlantic.com

7. Song: Encore

Album: The Black Album

Released: 2003

I hyperlinked the Linkin Park version, because that was such a phenomenal performance!

8. Song: Lost Ones

Featured artist: Chrisette Michelle

Album: Kingdom Come

Released: 2006

Image: Genius.com

You've been put on this earth

To be all you can be, like the reserves

And me? My time in the army, it's served

So I have to allow she, her time to serve

The time's now for her, in time, she'll mature

And maybe we can be we again like we were

Finally, my time's too short to share

And to ask her now, it ain't fair

So yeah, she lost one

-Jay-Z

9. Song: Run This Town

Featured artist: Rihanna, Kanye West

Album: The Blueprint 3.

Released: 2010

10. Song: Smile

Featured artist: Gloria Carter

Album: 4:44

Released: 2017

Living in the shadow

Can you imagine what kind of life it is to live?

In the shadows people see you as happy and free

Because that's what you want them to see

Living two lives, happy, but not free

You live in the shadows for fear of someone hurting your family or the person you love

But you live with the fear of just being me

Living in the shadow feels like a safe place to be

No harm for them, no harm for me

But life is short, and it's time to be free

Love who you love, because life isn't guaranteed

Smile

-Gloria Carter (Jay-Z's mother)

It was so hard not to choose songs just because they talk to the ladies: Change Clothes, Excuse Me Miss, '03 Bonnie & Clyde, Part II (On the Run). I had to rethink the entire selection process and keep asking myself, "If you had a blank cd and could only put ten Jay-Z songs on it, what would you choose?

This is where I landed. My listening habits have changed over the years. I listen to less of his music since I have been heavy into Pop and R&B, but you better believe that if he announces a new album or concert tomorrow. . .I WILL BE THERE.

After doing this exercise, I can confidently say, Jay-Z's catalogue is impeccable; pure gold. To have thirteen studio albums (excluding the collaboration albums) with music that has aged so well, is TALENT!

So to that, I say, Thank you Mr. Carter. Happy Birthday! It is an honor and a privilege to watch you age into greater. I wish you nothing but health, joy, safety, and continued success.

image: 1 stnews.com