Why I Believe in the Power of Aromatherapy

Let's take a deep breath

Why I Believe in the Power of Aromatherapy

I’m a big believer in the power of aromatherapy. In fact, it’s one of the things that helps me stay centered while I’m traveling across the country and around the world for tennis.

I always travel with oil diffusers or candles because that’s my way of bringing scents from home with me. I find that having the same scent is really grounding and helps me feel in control of my environment.

What is aromatherapy and how does it work?

According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, aromatherapy is the use of essential oils from plants (flowers, herbs, or trees) as a complementary health approach. The essential oils are most often used by inhaling them or by applying a diluted form to the skin. Some of the common essential oils used in aromatherapy include those from Roman chamomile, geranium, lavender, tea tree, lemon, ginger, cedar wood, and bergamot.

Here’s how it works: Aromatherapy activates your nose’s smell receptors and they send messages through your nervous system to your brain.

For example, I like to take very hot showers and at night I will use a shower steamer in a relaxing scent like lavender to help calm my mind from the day. This aroma immediately signals to my body that I’m beginning a wind down process.

On the other hand, you might use scents like eucalyptus or lemon verbena to feel energized.

Some research shows that the oils may activate certain areas of your brain, like your limbic system, which plays a role in your emotions. And they could also have an impact on your hypothalamus, which may respond to the oils by creating feel-good brain chemicals like serotonin.

The Benefits of Aromatherapy

Even though aromatherapy may be considered a bit “new age,” it’s actually been around for centuries. Ancient cultures in China, India, Egypt, and other countries used aromatic plants in their resins, balms, and oils. And they used them for medical and religious purposes.

Fun fact: the term “aromatherapy” was coined by a French perfumer and chemist René-Maurice Gattefossé in a book he wrote that was published in 1937. He’d discovered that lavender could be used to help heal burns and, in the book, he discusses using essential oils in treating various medical conditions.

Once medical doctors became more established in the 19th century, however, society shifted to using chemical drugs to treat illnesses.

To be clear, I am NOT suggesting that you ditch your medications for aromatherapy. And if you’re pregnant be sure to talk with your doctor first before trying aromatherapy. But aromatherapy can be a great complement to your wellness routine.

Research shows that aromatherapy can have health benefits for a number of conditions. It may:

  • help manage pain

  • improve sleep quality

  • reduce stress and anxiety

  • soothe sore joints

  • treat headaches and migraines

  • improve digestion

  • boost immunity

 Are you ready to try aromatherapy?

I hope by now I’ve convinced you of the power of aromatherapy. So now you probably want to know how you can try it for yourself.

Popular aromatherapy products include:

  • diffusers

  • candles

  • bath bombs, bathing salts, and shower steamers

  • body creams and lotions

  • massage oils

  • facial steamers

  • hot and cold compresses

  • clay masks 

One of the easiest ways to try aromatherapy is to simply buy an oil diffuser for your home and try out some different essential oils. You could also try a shower steamer.

Since I tend not to use scented lotions, diffusers and shower steamers are my favorite ways to incorporate aromatherapy into my routine. I also love to light a candle and do a face mask to get in a soothing zone.

If you enjoy getting regular massages, talk to your massage therapist about incorporating essential oils. However, before you apply any essential oils to your skin test a bit on a small patch of skin on the inside of your arm and wait for 24 hours to be sure you don’t have an allergic reaction. Follow this same rule for any lotions or creams you want to try too.

When you’re on the go as much as I am, it can be easy to feel unsettled. But with aromatherapy, I can feel at home no matter where I am.