If your skin needs a glow-up, read this ⬇️

The ultimate skin glow guide

If your skin needs a glow-up, read this ⬇️

With warmer weather here, you may be thinking about how you can get that summertime glow before your next trip to the beach.

And if you’re like me, you’re not trying to apply layers and layers of makeup to shimmer when you’re out and about-- especially when the sun is blazing! You want your skin to have a natural shine.

I’m no dermatologist (so be sure to see yours regularly) but here are some things I’ve learned through the years that could give your skin the glow up that you’re looking for.

Wash your face.

This seems like a no-brainer but when you’re exhausted at the end of the day, you may be tempted to crash without going through your nighttime skin care routine. Don’t do it! Take the time to wash your face with a gentle cleanser. One of my favorites is the iS Clinical Cleansing Complex.

Don’t forget to exfoliate.

If you’ve noticed your skin looking dull lately, it may be because you need to remove the dead skin cells and residue buildup that can clog your pores. You can do this by exfoliating two to three times a week with a gentle face scrub. And remember, all of your skin needs tender loving care, not just your face. I’m a big fan of Exfoliating Body Gloves as they make it easy to exfoliate in the shower.

Don’t exfoliate too much, though. You don’t want to break down your natural skin barrier. And if your skin feels super dry or if it’s irritated, skip exfoliating.

Vitamin C, please.

I think by now we all know that when it comes to glowing skin, vitamin C is key. Of course, you want to make sure you’re consuming enough vitamin C either through supplements or fruits and veggies but using a vitamin C serum can give your skin a boost, too.

The CEO Glow Brightening Serum by Sunday Riley is my fave. It brightens my skin and helps with skin tone too. 

Moisturize, moisturize, moisturize.

If you want youthful, dewy skin, you can’t skip your moisturizer. My go-to is the Sunday Riley ICE Ceramide Moisturizer with Vitamin F.

Mask on.

One of my favorite ways to pamper my skin – and get that glow – is with a face mask. Two of my favorites are the Kora Organics 2 in 1 Turmeric Brightening and Exfoliating Mask and the fresh Black Tea Firming Overnight Mask.

Wear sunscreen every day.

Nothing can stop a glow up like sunburn! And even if you don’t burn in the sun, UV rays can still cause damage that leads to blemishes and dark spots. So, use sunscreen every single day (SPF 30 or higher) – yes, even when there’s an overcast. I use Neutrogena sunscreen on my face and body and sometimes I’ll use the Dr. Barbara Sturm Anti-Pollution drops under my sunscreen for extra protection. If you have sensitive skin and you’re allergic to chemical sunscreen, opt for a naturally sourced mineral sunscreen such as one with zinc oxide as the active ingredient.

Water and boundaries.

When actress Gabrielle Union was recently asked to share the secret to being the ageless beauty that she is, her answer was simple: water and boundaries.

Amen!

Y’all know that I believe hydration is the key to EVERYTHING -- muscle recovery, jet lag prevention, and yes, glowing skin. I wake up each morning and drink a huge glass of water and keep drinking all day.

But boundaries are just as important. We’ve got to set boundaries in our personal and professional lives so that we will have time for ourselves. Rest and self-care will keep you glowing inside out.