What's In My Bag: A Look at My Favorite Skincare Products

Space is limited in my suitcase, here's what makes the cut

What's In My Bag: A Look at My Favorite Skincare Products

You can tell a lot about a person by what they pack in their suitcase. For me, the products in my bag are all about helping me maintain a routine.

In my sport, I travel more than 40 weeks a year! The most hectic times are the most important times to stay consistent with routines and my favorite products help me do that. I travel with a lot of skincare products because I love the sense of calm and order that a consistent routine brings.

My Favorite Morning Routine Products

When I wake up, I wash my face with a gentle cleanser like the iS Clinical Cleansing Complex, and since I usually head right to practice or training I also put on sunscreen. My tried and true sunscreen is the Neutrogena Ultra Sheer SPF 70 mist. It doesn’t get in my eyes and stays on through sweat and towel-offs. On my face, I like to use Supergoop and I will also put on Dr. Barbara Sturm Anti-Pollution drops if I’m feeling fancy.

PSA -- Please wear sunscreen every single day, no matter how melanated your skin is! The sun does not discriminate!

My Favorite Nighttime Routine Products

Because of what I do for a living, I sweat pretty much every day and I am always wearing sunscreen, so at night, I like to do a body scrub in the shower to scrub that all away and feel like I’m going to bed super clean. For the record, I love piping hot showers, the hottest the dial will turn - boil me!

I’m a big believer in the power of aromatherapy so I will sometimes use a shower steamer in a relaxing scent like lavender to help calm my mind from the day. This aroma immediately signals to my body that I’m beginning my wind-down process.

In the shower, I like to exfoliate my body by either using exfoliating body wipes with a regular body wash like Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Wash, or a body scrub like the Sol de Janeiro Bum Bum Body Scrub. Exfoliating Body Gloves are also an easy way to exfoliate in the shower and can also function like a dry brush for lymphatic drainage.

For my face, I’ll use a polish like the Tatcha Rice Wash or Dr. Barbara Sturm facial scrub.

Once I’m out of the shower, I layer on the moisturizers. First, I use a body lotion while my skin is still a little damp to lock in the moisture. I bought La Roche Posay Lipikar lotion in Paris this past summer and still use it. If I have a day where I’m feeling extra ashy, I’ll layer on a body oil like the Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Oat Mist.

Next, it’s time to show my face some extra love. Since I already washed my face in the shower, first I will pat dry my face. Three nights per week I try to use the Sunday Riley Good Genes Lactic Acid Treatment. Good Genes does it all – exfoliates, brightens dark spots, plumps wrinkles and fine lines, and just helps your skin look more radiant. It’s a glow up in a bottle. 

I’ll then layer  La Mer - The Renewal Oil on top of that and if I’m feeling dry, I’ll put the fresh Black Tea Firming Overnight Mask on after that. Plane travel is super drying, so I try to slather on lots of layers of moisture.

Another beauty hack of mine – a silk pillowcase. I never travel without one. Not only does a silk pillowcase help prevent hair breakage but it also gives you a little bit of luxury in your everyday life, even when you’re on the road.

Along with my skincare and products, I also always bring a candle or diffuser from home with me. It’s amazing how having that same scent can ground me and help me feel in control of my environment.

With little touches of home and the consistent routines that I can maintain with my favorite products, I can feel steady and whole no matter where I am.

How to Find the Right Products for You

My favorite products are the ones that I know work best for me. But you need to figure out what’s best for your skin. Obviously, the best way to do this is to have a chat with your dermatologist. But here’s a trick you can try in the meantime to figure out if you have normal, oily, dry, sensitive, or combination skin.

First wash your face with a gentle foaming cleanser. Dry your skin but don’t put any other products on it. Wait 20 to 30 minutes and then see how your skin looks and feels.

If it feels tight and itchy, you have dry skin.

If your face looks shiny and greasy, you have oily skin.

If your skin is shiny in your T-zone but dry everywhere else, you have combination skin.

If your face looks red or irritated, you may have sensitive skin.

And if your face looks and feels just fine, you have normal skin and I’m sure you’re the envy of all your friends.

Once you know your skin type, you can start trying out products that fit your budget and that are designed for your skin’s needs. And then you can begin building a beauty routine of your own.

Remember this routine is not just about making you look good, but it can help you feel good too. This routine becomes a part of your self-care regimen and gives you a sense of peace no matter how hectic your days may be.